Cebu (Cebuano: Sugbo) is a province in the Philippines, consisting of Cebu Island and 167 surrounding islands. It is located to the east of Negros, to the west of Leyte and Bohol islands. Cebu is a long narrow island stretching 225 kilometers from north to south, surrounded by 167 neighbouring, smaller islands, which include Mactan, Bantayan, Malapascua, Olango and the Camotes Islands. Cebu has narrow coastlines, limestone plateaus and coastal plains. It also has rolling hills and rugged mountain ranges traversing the northern and southern lengths of the island. Cebu's highest mountains are over 1000 meters high. Flat tracts of land can be found in the towns of Bogo, San Remigio, Medellin and Daanbantayan at the northern region of the province. Its capital is Cebu City, the oldest city in the Philippines, which forms part of the Cebu Metropolitan Area together with four neighboring cities which include Danao City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City and Talisay City and eight other municipalities. Mactan-Cebu International Airport, located in Mactan island, is the second busiest airport in the Philippines.
Cebu is one of the most developed provinces in the Philippines, with Cebu City as the main center of commerce, trade, education and industry in the Visayas. The United Kingdom based Condé Nast Traveler Magazine named Cebu the seventh best island destination in the Indian Ocean-Asia region in 2007, eighth best Asian-Pacific island destination in 2005, seventh in 2004 and in 2009.

Cebu has a population of about 3,500,000 people. Its largest city recorded a total population of 798,000 people. Cebuano is the official language spoken in Cebu and it is also spoken in most areas of the central Philippines, including Bohol, western Leyte, Negros Oriental. Some provinces of Mindanao that principally speaks Cebuano are: Bukidnon, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, to include Davao City, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Oriental, Misamis Occidental, Camiguin, Compostela Valley, and Sarangani. Moreover, Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-tawi uses Cebuano as secondary dialect.There are about 20,000,000 speakers of Cebuano.English and Cebuano is used in education, media, commerce and government. Cebuano is related to other Visayan languages, such as Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a and Waray-Waray. In the Camotes Islands a language related to Waray-Waray called Porohanon is spoken and in Santa Rosa, Bantayan Visayan is also spoken. Other notable languages spoken by its foreign minority ethnic groups includes Spanish and Chinese among others.